Torn

Homeopathy is crap, well unless you REALLY like overpaying for water. Wikipedia does a good job explaining it here, but for those who may not be familiar it’s taking an active ingredient and diluting 10x, 20x or 50x or whatever random number pops into the head of the preparer. Every decently designed study finds it’s effectiveness no better than placebo, and why would be effective? Do people get more or less drunk when the booze is watered down? Would the same amount of chlorine put into olympic swimming pool be more effective if the pool were the size of two football fields? Common sense says no and the same goes for homeopathy.

With that being said, I’m torn because a new business opened up near a house I own. Usually I’m all for new, small business opening up. I could parrot all the usual song and dance about economics, job creators, yada yada….but I won’t. Let’s assume only positive influences. I’m torn because this store is a health food store that sells homeopathic remedies, grrrrrr. To be fair they have cliff bars, which I love!!! But the rest??? Vitamin infused water, water infused with prayer, essential oils, etc my head hurt once I entered the door.

This property has been many things since I’ve had a vested entrance in the area, this by far is my least favorite beend-is-nearsides vacant. So I’m torn, what to do? Do I sit back, enjoy the fact that at least SOMETHING is there? My stomach turns every time I see someone entering. Do I spread the word that it’s all bunk? Stand outside the door with sign like those crazy people you see telling you the end is nigh’? No can’t do that either. But guerilla style attacks, that might serve two masters…

I can hear people, one in particular (you know who you are), saying “Just leave them alone, what’s the harm?” Does any one else hear this? I try to explain but nothing gets through. Then I happen upon this. A sad, sad site that groups together tons of harm done many varied erroneous beliefs. This is the harm, if one of these people, these children suffers less, this becomes the impetus to act, to spread knowledge. How can anyone argue with that??

I would rather have an empty store front be a haven for all manner of illicit activities because at least meth, cocaine, prostitution and anything other vice isn’t advertised as healing or alternative medicine. As a substitute for actual science based medical care. No one has to convince people drugs are bad, Mr. Mackey has already forged that frontier.

I’ll update my progress, even if I become that guy with a sandwich board!

One thought on “Torn

Leave a Reply

